April 19, 2009

Sketch #15

Posted in 12" x 12" Sketches, CY Design Team, Designer's Creations, Guest Designers at 2:47 pm by alimom4

There is a little story behind this sketch.

I am always trying to encourage my oldest child,  Kate (15), to scrapbook with me.

One evening, quite awhile back,  she DID!!  Her layout, of course had to do with a pony at the barn, Oakley– the horse she rode in lessons. The  layout (LO) was so simple and effective that I fell in love with it. When I began sketching for Creatively Yours, this LO design kept coming to mind. The resulting sketch is  pretty much 100% based on Kate’s layout.  I worked in reverse and created my sketch  from her page!  Hope you like it.

~ Creatively Yours Sketch #15, based on a LO by Kate MacDonald ~

Sketch #15 created for CY by Ali, completely based on a layout by Kate MacDonald

Sketch #15: drawn by Ali, based on a layout created by scrapbooker Kate MacDonald (then aged 13).

This post wouldn’t be telling much of a story without a look at Kate’s actual layout! Here you go: Isn’t it pretty; so simple and
eye-catching?
 Layout created by Kate MacDonald, at age 13, featuring a pony she rode during lessons: “Oakley.”
A year later,  Oakley became Kate’s very own pony.
Layout created by Kate MacDonald

Layout created by Kate MacDonald

Here is a scalloped and lacy treat for your eyes: an Easter layout by talented CY Design Team member Beth Price!

Layout created by Creatively Yours Designer Beth Price

Layout created by Creatively Yours Designer Beth Price

Here’s a  layout from “Yours Truly,” based upon Sketch #15

Layout created by CY Designer Ali MacDonald

Layout created by CY Designer Ali MacDonald

(A quick note…The title is “PART of my heart ” since Noah, our youngest,  is missing from this photo.)

 Thanks Everyone, and remember to enter our DT call! Scroll down a little and you’ll find the rules and requirements of applying.  Can’t wait to see your entries!

10 Comments »

  1. Ann said,

    Gorgeous Kate, the soft colors are so pretty!!!

    Beth, love the scallop paper and the “Easter” colors

    Ali, your color combo is so striking, it really pops.

  2. alimom4 said,

    Beth, this photo of the 3 little girls is so adorable… like a moment caught in time. SWEET. Your work certainly is gorgeous, interpreting a very simple sketch with lots of emotion. The blue lace is **incredibly** pretty used there, BTW!

    Kate, you already know how I feel about your pretty LO, and about your friend Oakley. Gorgeous- I love it when you scrap with me!!!! Thank you for letting me use your LO to create Sketch #15 & tell the story!

    Ann, TY for the compliment. I had fun with this simple LO. Got to use “Glossy Accents” on the heart… LOL I LOVE that stuff! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what everyone else comes up with!

  3. Jenifer Cowles said,

    These LO are fantastic. Tell Kate she has a future in sketching and scrapbooking, the pony is beautiful.
    Great job ladies

  4. Noella said,

    Aww this is so sweet! Kate you always do a fantastic job when you scrapbook! Keep up the good work! and I love your Oakley :o)

    Beth, I love the colors you used for the photo you chose, the are so soft and work so well with the photo.

    Ali, I love the red and blue! Your family is so beautiful!

  5. Jana said,

    Wonderful work! I love the story and the design Kate “created.” I love all the pages!

  6. semplydone said,

    Wow, Ali you did a great job creating the sketch and your daughter did an awesome LO too.
    Well done and thanks for sharing the link with me.

  7. Robin Gibson said,

    WTG Kate! Great page!!! And Ali, great sketch based on her page! Can’t get ’em started scrapping to young, is what I say, lol! She’s got her mama’s talent I see!
    Great DT layouts too Ladies:) Love the bright colors of Ali’s page, and that photo and those papers are precious on Beth’s page!! And I LOVE that clear flower to coordinate with the patterned paper Kate used:) Great job everyone!!

  8. Beth Price said,

    great job Kate,
    and Ali i love that strip of butterflies!

    lets see some links girls!

  9. Carolyn Drab said,

    Hi Kate and Ali;
    So exciting to see your wonderful talent with scrapbooking, and I know it flows into many other parts of your life! Keep it up.
    Love, Aunt Carolyn

  10. Merrilee said,

    Ali, what a great idea to do a sketch based on your daughter’s layout!

    Kate, what a sweet layout!

    Beth, I love the crocheted elements in your layout and the pretty colours!

    Ali, I love the heart and the bold title in your layout!


Leave a Reply

